effieRUNS

Into the serious stuff…

The 12wbt has not even officially started yet and I am already neglecting this blog. I have many excuses that I could tell you, but I’m working really hard to take on the lesson from Mish about challenging your excuses.

So yes, I have been busy, but I haven’t organised myself well enough to update this blog as much as I’d like, or go to the gym as much as I’d like recently. But these are all lessons that I am slowly getting my head around. 

So onto the Pre-Season Tasks. Most of them aren’t interesting enough to write a huge amount about, but I will mention a few…

Goal Setting: It’s funny how putting down in writing can clarify what you really want. I had the ideas in my head of what I wanted to achieve in the end, losing 7-10kg and increasing my fitness to a level where I can easily run a half-marathon, but I hadn’t planned out any of the ‘road’ to get there. This task was wonderful for me to sit down and really nut out what I wanted to achieve and more importantly, WHEN I wanted to achieve it.

Say It Out Loud: This was a toughie for me, and I suspect a lot of other people. I had no problem in committing to myself, I suppose because I have committed to myself in the past, whether I followed through or not… I had no problem committing to Michelle or my fellow members on the forums, maybe because I’m hiding behind a username and surrounded by people who are committing themselves to the journey alongside me. But committing to my boyfriend, my family or my friends? Oooh, the knees started knocking…. I’m lucky. My boyfriend, who I live with, is wonderful and wholly supportive of my goals. So is my family and my sister and I have started texting our HRM calorie counts to each other after gym sessions as extra motivation for each other. But my friends…. I have no doubt they would be supportive.  They’d probably think I was crazy wanting to run a half marathon and be so food-conscious but they would show me support. I’m still too scared to tell my friends just yet, maybe after a week or so of the program, I’ll get into the swing of running and the program will not seem like such a huge mountain to climb after all. Maybe. 

Organise and Diarise: This is causing me a little unease. Being a student I don’t really have the same schedule each week, always with essays and assignments due on different days and weeks, 3 days of class and shift work babysitting to fit in around all of this.. So planning a month (or three) in advance is really really hard. I’m going to try planning “big” events (like my birthday, 24, oh my gosh!) well ahead of time and have already diarised these. But I think my exercise and shopping days, etc will have to be planned a week or so in advance when I have all of the information I need to really commit each thing to a timeslot. I’m hoping this isn’t bending the ‘rules’ too far, but I think it will work best for me… Is anyone else struggling with this? Does anyone have any suggestions??? If you’re one of those amazing people who is organised and can easily plan this sort of stuff I’d love to know some of your tips!

I’ve been trying to walk more, and increase those ‘little’ things, like taking the stairs instead of the escalator, parking in the far carpark, etc, and I’ve definitely been walking a lot more than I used to. Unfortunately the weather isn’t cooperating the way I’d like it to! I’ve been missing the gym a bit recently, having got myself run down and now fighting a cold and a sore throat, but I’ve been trying to walk a lot at least… Hopefully from tomorrow I’ll ease my way back into the gym with a few light workouts and build up again from there. 

I’m getting excited!

Effie xo

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “Into the serious stuff…

  1. estaki12wbt on said:

    Effie I too have trouble diarising anything more than a week in advance. We run a 7-day a week bakery/cafe and my shifts are always different, in that, I slot in where there is a need. Today I was meant to work 12pm until 7pm. Well my 8am-5pm shift phoned this morning to say she had hurt her back so guess what? I’m on at 8-5. There goes my morning class! Will have to fit it in this evening. If her back is still bad for the rest of the week then there goes the rest of my week plan. Each day is something different so my advice to you is to be flexible. Have a number of options available to you each day so that when your schedule does change you have a backup plan. Good luck to you! P.s I’ve been slack with my blogging too but I have had a boring few weeks! Ha

Leave a Reply

